NZ Day 15 - Milford Sound

Saturday, 15 April 2017

During our drive to Te Anau Downs five days ago, we decided to book a cruise the day after we finished walking so that we could see the whole length of Milford sound before we left the Fjordland area. Amusingly, for a number of days before that Zali had been campaigning to do a Milford cruise which offered a ‘free cooked breakfast’, and I’d been dismissing the idea with the comment that nothing’s free and we didn’t have time anyway - however in the end our timing was such the one and only cruise we could book was that one.  Which pleased Zali greatly.  It pleased me that due to school holidays the company was running a kids-are-free deal - so they really did get a free breakfast! 

 

So at 9am this morning we fronted up at the Milford Lodge sea terminal and boarded one of the largest vessels there for our tour.  The low clouds made the views somewhat.. obscured, but we got a pretty good sense of the fjord anyway. We went right out to sea and under waterfalls and close by to seals - it was very relaxing and the breakfast was pretty good too!  

 


Once we docked we had to walk fast to the car then drive even faster back to Queenstown so we could get Clare to the airport on time. Then we checked into a pretty average apartment in Queenstown, repacked yet again (so tired of this repacking!), and rested up for a day of adventure before our afternoon flight to Auckland tomorrow.
2017List
Cool things Wednesday, 3 May 2017
NZ Day 30 - Long Distance Final Sunday, 30 April 2017
NZ Day 28 - Rest Day 3 (HA!) Friday, 28 April 2017
NZ Day 27 - Long Qualifying 2 Friday, 28 April 2017
NZ Day 26 - Long Qualifying 1 Wednesday, 26 April 2017
NZ Day 25 - Rangitoto Island Tuesday, 25 April 2017
NZ Day 24 - Unexpected Outcomes Tuesday, 25 April 2017
NZ Day 23 - Sprint Qualifying Sunday, 23 April 2017
NZ Day 22 - Goodbye Rotorua, Hello Auckland Sunday, 23 April 2017
NZ Day 21 - Rest Day 2 (HA!) Saturday, 22 April 2017
NZ Day 20 - Rotorua Orienteering & Adrenaline Forest Thursday, 20 April 2017
NZ Day 19 - Rotorua Orienteering Thursday, 20 April 2017
NZ Day 18 - Rest Day (HA!) Tuesday, 18 April 2017
NZ Day 17 - Oceania Middle & Rotorua Tuesday, 18 April 2017
NZ Day 16 - Goodbye South Island Tuesday, 18 April 2017
NZ Day 15 - Milford Sound Saturday, 15 April 2017
Milford Track - Day 4 Saturday, 15 April 2017
Milford Track - Day 3 Saturday, 15 April 2017
Milford Track - Day 2 Saturday, 15 April 2017
Milford Track - Day 1 Saturday, 15 April 2017
NZ Day 9 - Pastries and Packing Saturday, 15 April 2017
NZ Day 8 - Pools and Puzzles Sunday, 9 April 2017
NZ Day 7 - More Glaciers & Amazing Views Sunday, 9 April 2017
NZ Day 6 - Gorges and Glaciers Friday, 7 April 2017
NZ Day 5 - Seals & Rocks Friday, 7 April 2017
NZ Day 4 - Old Ghost Road Wednesday, 5 April 2017
NZ Day 2 - Hot Springs and Long Drives Monday, 3 April 2017
NZ Day 0 & NZ Day 1 Sunday, 2 April 2017
NZ (Planned) Wednesday, 29 March 2017